RESISTANCE IS FUTILE

Christ-following, Discipleship, Worship

Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord” – and you forgave the guilt of my sin.

Therefore let everyone who is godly pray to you while you may be found; surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach him. You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you. Many are the woes of the wicked, but the Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him. Rejoice in the Lord and be glad, you righteous; sing, all you who are upright in heart! Psalm 32

Why do we resist the Lord? It does us nothing but harm. Submission to Him brings such benefit: the forgiveness of our sin, the removal of unbearable burdens, His supernatural empowerment and protection, His wise guidance and counsel. The list is much longer and it is all good. Yet our fallen instincts incline us to resist and run from God. It was one of the first manifestations of the newly acquired sinful nature that Adam and Eve demonstrated in the Garden as soon as they ate of the forbidden fruit. Where once they went eagerly to the Presence of God and received gladly from Him, they immediately hid from Him instead. When given the opportunity to confess their sin, they passed blame instead. Crazy, isn’t it? But we carry their DNA and we are cursed with the same stubbornness. David writes of this in Psalm 32 and gives a word of exhortation: “Therefore, let everyone who is godly pray to you while you may be found…” In the lucid moment when you can acknowledge the truth, pray! This is the moment when He can be found. Before you return to your default position of self-reliance and resistance, pray! David’s insightful comparison of our condition to that of “…the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you” is very vivid for me because I have had dealings with a horse like that. It wanted what it wanted and wouldn’t cooperate with my wishes without much firm usage of the bit and bridle. No fun! Yet, you have to admit, this is very descriptive of how God often has to move us. Because we do not love and trust Him, because we so stubbornly want what we want and do not believe in or desire His purposes, our default disposition is resistance. “Many are the woes of the wicked, but the Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him.” Resistance is costly and futile. Confess, acknowledge, agree, pray, learn, submit, trust: rejoicing and gladness will follow.

Leave a Reply

