KNOW THAT THE LORD IS GOD

Christ-following, Discipleship, Worship

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before Him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is He who made us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture. Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name. For the Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.” Psalm 100

We were created to worship God. It is the most basic function of our spirit, like breathing is to our body. The tragedy of the Fall left us all spiritually dead in our breathing, physically alive bodies. The triumph of the Cross is the opportunity to come to life in our spirit when we come to Christ and begin the life we created for: worshipping God.

We worship God because He is God. For us, that means, first, that He made us. We exist because of Him. My thoughts or opinions about my existence shouldn’t supersede this. Those are issues that can and will change when I put first things first. “It is He who made us, and we are His.” If I will keep the basic things in place and “Know that the Lord is God” and worship Him with gladness and joy simply on the basis of that, I will live.

When I preoccupy myself with knowing that the Lord is God, my perspective on all things changes. Instead of being consumed with the circumstances of my life and what I want, I am overwhelmed that I get to worship Him at all. Who am I, that I should be allowed to know Him and be His? He is good and powerful and holy and I am not! This is the point at which shouts of joy and gladness become spontaneous and genuine, never canned or routine. He is good and His love does endure. His faithfulness has continued through all generations, all the way to mine, where He has shown it to me.

My awe does not come from what I have: living conditions, social status, personal fulfillment. Those are always in flux and likely will be as long as I breathe in my body. No, my awe comes from the simple miracle that He brought me to life by His sacrifice on the Cross and let me know Him and be His. The more I come to Him, the more I know Him and the more my awe increases and the more I live. Circumstances have less significance. Knowing more of Him in the midst of them makes all of them good. What I want changes from the list I used to have to the things He treasures: faith, trust, obedience, love, His character in me. The results of this are astonishing. The depth of love, joy and peace I experience are so clearly from Him that I often laugh from the wonder of it. I know how I am by myself: uptight, worrying, controlling, fearful, easily discouraged. I am never confused about whose fruit is whose because His is completely opposite of mine!

“The Lord is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.” His faithfulness is still continuing. Come to Him and know Him and live. It is what you were made for.

Leave a Reply

